Afcon 2023: Ivory Coast 1-0 DR Congo – Haller fires Elephants into final

Ivory Coast striker Sebastien Haller scored the only goal with what was his first shot on target at the 2023 Afcon finals

Sebastien Haller scored the winner as 2023 Africa Cup of Nations hosts Ivory Coast beat DR Congo to set up a final meeting with Nigeria.

The only goal of a cagey contest in Abidjan came in the 65th minute when Haller’s volley bounced down into the ground and up over Leopards goalkeeper Lionel Mpasi.

The Borussia Dortmund striker should have opened the scoring just before the break with an unmarked header, and Haller also missed a chance to double the lead when he sent a lob narrowly wide.

DR Congo did not look like getting a late equaliser, although Meschack Elia sent a volley wide of the left-hand upright and Simon Banza then fired well over in injury time.

Ivory Coast had sacked Jean-Louis Gasset as boss before scraping through the group stage, and had needed late goals against both Senegal and Mali to progress to the last four.

But interim boss Emerse Fae now has a chance to guide the Elephants to a third continental title, adding to their triumphs in 1992 and 2015, when they face three-time winners Nigeria in Abidjan on Sunday (20:00 GMT).

The Super Eagles had reached the final earlier on Wednesday after beating South Africa 4-2 on penalties following a dramatic 1-1 draw in Bouake.

More to follow.


Ivory Coast

Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Fofana
  • 5Singo
  • 12Boly
  • 21Ndicka
  • 3Konan
  • 8Kessié
  • 4SeriSubstituted forAmaniat 61′minutes
  • 6FofanaSubstituted forSangaréat 61′minutes
  • 15GradelSubstituted forBogaat 90′minutes
  • 22HallerSubstituted forKrassoat 90′minutes
  • 24AdingraSubstituted forBambaat 80′minutes


  • 2Diomande
  • 9Bamba
  • 10Konaté
  • 11Krasso
  • 13Boga
  • 16Folly
  • 18Sangaré
  • 19Pépé
  • 23Sangaré
  • 25Doumbia
  • 26Diallo
  • 27Amani

DR Congo

Formation 4-2-3-1

  • 1Mpasi
  • 24Kalulu
  • 22Mbemba
  • 2Inonga
  • 26Masuaku
  • 18PickelSubstituted forTshibolaat 70′minutes
  • 8Moutoussamy
  • 13EliaSubstituted forKatompa Mvumpaat 78′minutes
  • 14KakutaSubstituted forBongondaat 45′minutes
  • 20WissaSubstituted forMayeleat 70′minutes
  • 17BakambuSubstituted forBanzaat 69′minutes


  • 4Bayeye
  • 5Batubinsika
  • 6Tshibola
  • 7Diangana
  • 10Bongonda
  • 11Katompa Mvumpa
  • 12Kayembe
  • 16Bertaud
  • 19Mayele
  • 21Siadi
  • 23Banza
  • 27Mfulu

Live Text

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *